Brand New Need Advice

bradenl123

Sun Jan 06, 2019 11:30 am

My name is Braden I am 26 and live in Texas. I am brand new to tea and would like some advice on what equipment I need and what teas to buy and maybe some websites on how to prepare tea. I do not doubt that this will become a slippery slope. I started on espresso 2 years ago and I have found myself with a 2500$ espresso machine and 1500$ grinder. I imagine tea is similar and that temperature, steep time, etc matter and that there is a myriad amount of equipment to buy to provide the best tea experience. I am looking for the best bang for your buck at this point as I would like to just get into tea. I drink one coffee a day but wouldn't mind having a lunch or night time tea. I am into the whole health scene and I know that tea has a lot of benefits. I already have a Stagg EKG kettle for coffee that is variable temp. What tea pots, teas, and other equipment would you all recommend for a beginner?

Thanks,

Braden
plamarca000

Sun Jan 06, 2019 12:09 pm

When you are getting started I think what you really would need is a 100-120ml gaiwan, strainer, fairness pitcher, a few cups, digital scale and a kettle that you can adjust temp to 195-212f. This can make any kind of tea and will get you started on gungfu tea making. I would go this route and really learn tea before you get deeper into clay pots.

I use about 1 gram=14ml of water.
for most teas, like most oolongs I like my water at 195-200f.
Then it goes like this:
1. Pour water into gaiwan at temp
2. Pour that water into pitcher then pour from there into cups
3. get rid of that water
4. put tea in gaiwan.
5. pour water in gaiwan and then instantly pour into pitcher then from there to cups.
6. throw that infusion out.
7. Pour water into gaiwan, let it sit for a few seconds, pour into pitcher then from there into cups and drink.
8. Repeat with adding a few more seconds to each infusion until tea loses its charm.