How Much Tea Do You Consume Per Day?

Craig

Thu Feb 01, 2018 4:26 pm

I'm new to tea but over the past several weeks I've gotten into a routine of enjoying three tea sessions on most days. I'm brewing in a gawain and steeping many times each session. I tend to use 5 to 6 grams of tea per session so I'm going through about 15-18 grams of tea each day. How much tea do you use each day? I'm curious to see where I land on the tea addiction consumption scale. :)
settingsunteahut
New user

Thu Feb 01, 2018 4:47 pm

Usually two teas per day for me. Unless I'm teaching a class or am serving at a market.
CWarren

Thu Feb 01, 2018 6:13 pm

I used to enjoy two to three tea sessions a day but now I enjoy just one. Depending on the tea around 6-12g and probably 12-20 infusions with my 1.5l tetsubin at the ready and 100ml gaiwan. I don’t force a session for the sake of having tea either. If it happens it happens but it has to come naturally so I can enjoy the relaxing nature of it.
OldWaysTea
Vendor

Thu Feb 01, 2018 6:38 pm

CWarren wrote:
Thu Feb 01, 2018 6:13 pm
If it happens it happens but it has to come naturally so I can enjoy the relaxing nature of it.
A good sentiment.

Many days I'll have a 5-8g session during my work day. I'll start if I have a lull to get the first few infusions peacefully. If there is no time to enjoy it I'll pass, sometimes grab a cheap green tea bag to have something hot at a meeting.

Most evenings I'll have a yancha session with my wife, after a walk after dinner. It is a nice time to relax and enjoy a new tea or enjoy a long time favorite. Often we read or study some after the session gets started.
Nis

Fri Feb 02, 2018 7:09 am

At least 3g, but usually more like 10-15g. That's 3g of green tea (or whatever) western-style in the morning and then one or two "sessions" throughout the day.
It obviously depends on how much time I have and the tea.
Bok
Vendor

Fri Feb 02, 2018 7:56 am