Does teacup size matter?

Tillerman
Vendor

Fri Jan 12, 2018 12:05 pm

This week, Ricardo Caicedo published an interesting blog in which he offers 5 reasons why drinking tea from small cups is better than drinking from a mug (http://www.myjapanesegreentea.com/why-i ... small-cups.) For my part, I've been using a mug for over 25 years (when drinking tea alone - not with others) and would argue that it's really the size of the brewing pot and the manner of steeping that matter (I use pots under 200 ml and I recognize that that's still pretty large for some.)

What are your views?
Victoria
Admin

Fri Jan 12, 2018 1:56 pm

I learned a good lesson recently visiting a friend who would only let me use those big Ikea mugs, totally muted the aromatics and therefor the enjoyment of a high quality Oriental Beauty. The kind of clay and glaze used in cups is a big contributing factor as to how it will perform with tea, along with shape, size and wall thickness. Smaller cups allow for more immediate transport of aromatic compounds. My favorite cups at the moment are very thin porcelain Seifu Yohei IV cups, functionally around 60ml, so larger than normal Japanese cups. Aromatics are transported perfectly and thin porcelain cools tea really well also. I also love using Akira Satake yunomi that is much larger and thicker, functionally around 150ml. This cup is great in the winter with roasted oolongs, warms the hands cooling the tea nicely, and captures aroma swirling it around nicely. I also have new smaller almost paper thin porcelain Japanese cups functionally at 40ml; these cups are great for smaller more focused infusions and when sharing.

Of all my teaware cups are the most changeable accessory, similar to clothing; whatever suits the mood, the tea, and the occasion. Cups are an important part of the overall aesthetic experience of drinking tea, they can elevate the moment to even higher more refined levels.

3 cups L1000639.jpg