What would you tell your novice self about tea

blkgreymon

Sat Apr 30, 2022 11:41 am

I'm new to many kinds of teas since I started branching off Taiwanese Oolongs and it is such a long road for me to learn about each tea and their specific qualities. This brought up a question of mine, how would you teach yourself about tea in the best way possible? Would you buy the best of the best or start out small and go budget friendly?

Knowing what you guys know now, what advice would you guys give your former self?
LeoFox

Sat Apr 30, 2022 12:16 pm

Buy 3 gaiwans from twl
Dont Buy modern pots
Stick to 1-2 vendors per region of tea.
Dont trust new companies
Dont Buy any shou
Dont trust the recommendations of anyonr who mostly drinks shou, young sheng or enjoys any tea that you've personally found undrinkable
Dont judge tea from just 1-2 sessions
Dont binge Buy shincha
Check tds of water
DailyTX

Sat Apr 30, 2022 1:50 pm

@LeoFox
Did you have a lot of negative experience on shou?

2 advices from people who drink tea much longer than I do are buy less tea and sample more. As for pots, look more and buy less. Hope that helps ;)
Maerskian

Sat Apr 30, 2022 3:01 pm

Been fortunate enough with my water source even before i got into tea but certainly it's the first unavoidable step: test & compare your water.

DailyTx already mentioned another rock solid usual advice which is/will be mentioned often for a reason ( sample-sample-sample ) .

And then... just to spice it up & in no particular order:

- Don't trust advice from anybody on the net ( me included of course ) despite their fame, name or supposed relevance.

- Compile as much information as possible ( you're in for life on this regard ), keep your emotions away & treat all that info/other people's opinions for what they: chunks of data... which needs to be cross-checked, validated, compared... again, again & again, add your own perspective as you keep growing as well, take decisions.