Seasoning Clay Boilers

S_B

Wed Dec 26, 2018 1:56 pm

I received a clay boiler from Taiwan for Christmas, Hohoho! It is the Anita boiler that Taiwan sourcing offers. I was wondering if it is necessary to season the clay before use. I have seen very small tidbits in old forums about using starch (congee, or something of the like) to help fill some of the pores up. If anybody has some good advice on the matter, it would be greatly appreciated. Thank you! :D
.m.

Wed Dec 26, 2018 3:54 pm

I have the same one that i've been using for 3 or 4 years now. I dont see any reason for seasoning it beyond boiling some water in it. I think the cornstarch/rice water seasoning is done mainly if the kettle is leaking water. Some kettles need to soak up some water first before use, but i havent been doing it either with this one.

Did you get the light or the dark one? (They both seem to be the same clay.)

PS. As far as i can tell, i think it is also the same maker/clay as those that Global Tea Hut sells.
S_B

Wed Dec 26, 2018 4:32 pm

Did you get the light or the dark one?
The darker one. Compared to my tetsubin, so far I haven't been liking it as much with certain teas (mostly pu'er). It is pretty early in (only two days in) but I'm still exploring combinations with it. I figured there probably wasn't a ton of need to season it, I just wanted to make sure I could make sure I have it "proper" before I keep on experimenting with it. I guess it should be ready to go, so I'll keep testing it out on teas and figure it out best I can! Thank you for the response. If you have any more insights into the boiler, I'd love to hear them!
.m.

Wed Dec 26, 2018 6:04 pm