Use of cast iron teapot/kettle

brendanxx
New user

Wed Sep 15, 2021 6:52 am

Hello
I am an absolute beginner and am intending to buy a used cast iron, non enamel lined Japanese teapot/kettle. Will I be able to actually brew tea in this kettle/pot? By this I mean can I boil water from another source and then pour it into the tea in the cast iron pot/kettle? Or can I heat the kettle on my gas stove and then add tea to the kettle? Any advice most welcome.
Bok
Vendor

Wed Sep 15, 2021 10:55 am

Cast iron kettles are meant for boiling water usually, not brewing tea.

At the limit it might work for boiling some teas, but for most teas it won’t work and render them too bitter and strong.

If I may, why would you want to use one of these for brewing tea?
brendanxx
New user

Wed Sep 15, 2021 11:49 am

Hi
Well, I saw it in an Eastern curio shop - full of old Eastern things. Among them was this beautiful, old, cast iron kettle - I assumed it was simply a tea pot but thought I'd investigate before I bought it. I've looked on a few tea sites and there seems to be conflicting advice. More then one said that making tea in a cast iron teapot would be beneficial because it would supply iron to one's diet! But maybe they meant that one simply boils the water in it. But then, iron in the water apart, what would be the benefit beside aesthetically of using it to simply boil water and not use an electric kettle? I take your point though about a strong, probably unwelcome, taste to the tea.
pedant
Admin

Wed Sep 15, 2021 2:36 pm

i wouldn't brew tea in it.

you can use it as a kettle, though. some people like the rustic experience. some people also think that boiling water in it alters the flavor of the resulting tea (often in a good way depending on the original water and what kind of tea you're making). many people like these iron kettles. the japanese word for iron kettle is tetsubin, btw.
Ethan Kurland
Vendor

Wed Sep 15, 2021 2:43 pm