White Tea Expiration?

Withered tea
T.T.
New user

Mon Jan 25, 2021 9:20 am

Hello,

I am looking to buy some quality white tea. When I look at Jing Tea Shop’s white teas, they seem to be a few years old? Their Bai Mu Dan was harvested in the spring of 2019 and their Bai Hao Yin Zhen was harvested in the spring 2018.

I have read that white tea can be aged. So I am confused. Does white tea expire if it can be aged? Is Jing Tea Shop a good shop to buy white tea?

Background: I am a newbie to loose leaf green and white tea. I have been drinking tea bags for several years. I am afraid if I buy low quality white tea that I won’t know if it is any good or not as I am new to loose leaf.

Tamara
chadao

Mon Jan 25, 2021 10:46 pm

Welcome to the world of looseleaf tea!

White tea can indeed be aged, and in fact, higher quality white tea can absolutely be aged for a number of years. The character of the tea changes over time, and some people will say it becomes more complex as it goes. White tea can lose its character and taste if it's aged in an open bag or something similar, with too much air flow.

White tea comes in different grades and qualities, with differing harvest times and types of leaves harvested to make the tea. I'm not sure the store you're referencing, but if you can find a good Fujian white tea, it can really impress you.

What interests you in white tea?
Ethan Kurland
Vendor

Mon Jan 25, 2021 11:09 pm

I am replying because you posted in the morning & no one else replied all day. I believe others here know a lot more about white tea than I do. If I am wrong, I trust they will correct me.

1. Tea waiting to be purchased does not = the aging of tea. Aging tea usually involves conditions aiming to give leaves some character that is less likely to happen just be stored in common ways.