How to brew Dan congs Western style?

Semi-oxidized tea
Teachronicles

Sun Jan 07, 2018 7:53 am

I'm fairly new to tea and specifically Dan congs. I've heard about how they can be finicky to brew. Can you even brew them Western style? I usually do my oolongs Western style 3gs for 2-3 minutes. Can I do Dan congs like that also?
Bok
Vendor

Sun Jan 07, 2018 10:04 am

Would not recommend. Turns bitter very easily and all the complexity is gone. Some very high quality DC might be workable, but they would be so expensive that it would be a waste to brew them in that way...
Tillerman
Vendor

Sun Jan 07, 2018 10:59 am

For DC i would not try western style. I generally use a little more leaf and a very short infusion.
debunix

Sun Jan 07, 2018 11:41 am

Thirding the opinions above.
Teachronicles

Sun Jan 07, 2018 12:14 pm

Ok. So I have a few more questions then. Should I use boiling water? Or 200f? Do I need to do a rinse? And I generally start with 15s infusions and adjust from there. Should I go shorter to start?
debunix

Sun Jan 07, 2018 12:32 pm

Depends on grams/mL and your preferences. I use a small amount of leaf in a small pot, and my first infusion is usually a flash infusion--very little to it, almost more of a rinse, with water just off the boil. After that, I let it rest a minute or three, and then do another flash infusion, which by now has more flavor, aroma and body. Then I keep going, only lengthening infusions as the brew get too weak.
Brent D

Sun Jan 07, 2018 5:33 pm

Dc does not like long infusions. Super easy to over steep. I’ve had some luck with 185f and super quick infusions with 7 grams to 200ml. That was some cheaper dc. If it’s good dc, I’d suggest against western brewing.
Bok
Vendor

Sun Jan 07, 2018 6:44 pm

Also check tea habitat’s website, they have lots of articles about Dancong and how to deal with it.
Teachronicles

Sun Jan 07, 2018 9:37 pm

What do you guys think about this pot for brewing Dan congs?