Help for getting into Heizhuans

Puerh and other heicha
Yu855

Fri Jan 06, 2023 6:27 pm

Hello.

I am currently interested in trying / sampling some heizhuans. I have never tried it before but I have tried other anhua heicha. Im quite lost on where should I look for / where to buy samples from when it comes to something like heizhuans to get me started. :)
wave_code

Sat Jan 07, 2023 5:44 am

Paging resident Nordic fu/hei expert @Balthazar :)
Balthazar

Sat Jan 07, 2023 1:31 pm

I'm going to assume you are limited to ordering from "Western facing" vendors and not interested in ordering through e.g. Taobao through an agent. (Let me know if that's not the case.)

If that is the case then there is a hidden blessing in the lack of options (no endless alternatives and decision fatigue!).

For newer, "artisinal" stuff, Exquisite Leaves and The Fragrant Cup are probably your best bet. (There's also Xin An Chu.) These types of vendors mostly keep it a secret whose productions they're selling (though you can sometimes find out from the pictures...) and I am pretty confident there's a good margin on the products (nothing wrong with either of those things, of course). But those who have tried their teas seem to be satisfied customers, and they do offer samples. (Fake-edit: I just noticed Fragrant Cup currently doesn't sell any heizhuan teas, but I'm assuming that's only temporary since they're Anhua focused...)

For "bigger factory openly disclosed brand name" stuff, YS has a couple heizhuans. Some other vendors (e.g. Chawangshop) occasionally has something from this category in stock too. My personal preference for heizhuans is much more with the former category than with the latter, but again, beggars can't be choosers and being limited to Western vendors as an Anhua heicha fan is a bit of a vagabond experience. But still probably a lot better now than it was just a few years ago, with the appearance of those smaller vendors mentioned here.