How do you usually brew your sencha? I have a consistency problem

Non-oxidized tea
JCMS
New user

Sat Mar 06, 2021 2:17 pm

Hello everyone, I am new here!

I've been drinking tea for a few years now but I just recently expanded my green tea sourcing. I've always had consistency issue brewing japanese greens and I'd like to get some feedback.

To start, I usually get my stuff from Camelia-Sinensis. I mainly use their Senchado technique and it usually works, albeit with tweaking needed for every tea. However, with teas not from them, it usually leads to disastrous results. They suggest this technique for both their Sencha and Gyokuro (albeit more leafs & lower for gyokuros). It usually is as follow

1) 0.75~1 tea spoon per 125mL.
2) 75~80C water
3) 25~45 seconds for the first brew

I recently got a sample of their Gyokuro Shuin . For it, I decided to follow Gyokuro instructions I found online. I went with this one which is 1g/30mL + 60C water for ~2 minutes on the first brew. It worked wonderfuly. Tea was amazing, tasted exactly how it smelled and I got at least 6 brews from it. I just knew I got right, you know? I really regret not taking note of the exact thing I did back then.

I recently ordered from Ikkyu-Tea this set. I tried the same technique on hte Gyokuro and it got really bitter. I retried using the technique they suggest on their website and it tasted even worst. Like if I got grass from my backward, poured water on it and pass it to the magic bullet. The technique they use is 8g + 40mL @ 40C for 2 minutes.

My first question is about the quantities - grams versus teaspoon. I think this is a great source of messing up for me :? :cry: